Erase all content and settings is commonly used when you need to reset your iPhone. It brings back your iPhone to the factory setting state which means all data will be erased including your saved wifi network passwords etc. However, some users may meet the trouble that iPhone does not response when they erase all content and settings. If you are the one who are having this problem, read on this article to find the solution for you.
There are several ways for you to figure out iPhone won’t erase all content and settings. Before you do this option, you need to make sure that it is okay to lost all of the data on your device and you have made the backup as it is basically a factory reset.
How to Solve iPhone Won’t Erase All Content and Settings
Method 1: Update iOS Version
The first way for you to deal with the trouble is to update your Apple device iOS. This effectively updates your device and gets you past the stuck phase. You can update your iOS version with these easy steps but first ensure you backup your device:
Step 1: Make sure your iPhone or iPad is connected to stable Wi-Fi.
Step 2: Open Settings app, go to General > Software Update.
Step 3: It will show you the details about the new iOS if there is one. Click Download and Install.
Step 4: Enter your screen passcode when prompted and it will download and install the latest iOS on your device.
When this is done, go to “Settings > Genera > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings” and try again.
Method 2: Restart Your iPhone/iPad
Sometimes, restarting iPhone is the simply and effective way to solve the problem. To get this done, what you need to do is:
For iPhone X:
1.Press and hold the Side button and Volume up/down button at the same time, until the slider appears.
2.Slide the slider from left to right to turn your iPhone X off.
3.Then press and hold the Side button until you can see the Apple logo.
For iPhone 8, or earlier, or iPad:
1.Keep pressing the Top (or Side) button until the slider appears.
2.Slide the slider to right to turn iPhone off.
3.Then, press and hold the Top (or Side) button again until you see the Apple logo.
Method 3: Hard Reset iPhone
Hard reset is different from factory reset, namely “Erase All Content and Settings”. Hard reset won’t affect any of your iPhone data. When you hard reset iPhone and turn it back, non of the settings will be changed.
It’s commonly used when your iPhone stuck, keeps crashing, suddenly corrupts, etc. It will save your iPhone from unexpected accidents.
Questions about “Erase All Content and Settings”
Does Resetting iPhone Erase Personal Data? Resetting iPhone will delete personal data, but not erase files. It’s different. That means some sensitive data can be easily recovered even after reset.
Does Resetting iPhone Delete Factory Software? No. After reset, the iOS version on your iPhone won’t be changed. Besides, the default apps like Phone, Camera, Calender, etc. won’t be cleared from your device.
Does Resetting iPhone Delete Jailbreak? Yes. So you need to do jailbreak again.
Does Resetting iPhone Delete Backups? No. The backups are stored online or on your computer. Resetting iPhone won’t have any impact on it.
Once you perform Erase All Content and Settings on your device, these erased data cannot be recovered by iPhone data recovery software directly from your iPhone, iPad and iPod. However, you could use iRefone
to help you get back your data from iTunes and iCloud backup.