Home Resource Tips 5 Must-Know Tips About iPhone’s “Reset All Settings”

5 Must-Know Tips About iPhone’s “Reset All Settings”

It can happen to any one of us. Even the best of us need some time to recharge and to breathe. So does our iPhone. If you find that your iPhone performs more and more slowly, for sure, you need to reset it. The factory reset is a great solution that can be used to bring your iPhone back to a perfect activity. With the factory reset you return your iPhone to the status "new", because everything will be erased, for example music, pictures, apps and other data that was added in the past. The iPhone also returns to its original settings. All in all, the factory reset means you are completely erasing your data from the phone and starting it as a new one.

Here are 5 must-know tips you need to know before you put your iPhone on the "Reset All Settings" process:

  1. Unless you are selling or giving away your iPhone, you do not need to do a hard reset i.e. "Erase All Content and Settings". If you only want to rectify a glitch, the "Reset All Settings" is more than enough to solve your problems.
  2. The reset option do not erase any app on your iPhone; however it does erase all of your preferred settings on them. To make life a little easier, keep your preferred setting written somewhere so that you know where to change them.
  3. This goes the same for WiFi passwords and manually-configured network configurations. Unless you do not mind asking your network admins again to reconfigure your phones, it is probably best to write them down.
  4. Once you have completed your reset, reconfigure your Privacy settings first. It is often neglected and you would probably think of setting it up a few days after the reset. Do not risk it!
  5. While it will not erase any data stored in your iPhone, it is always a good practice to do a data back-up, just in case you end up clicking the wrong button!

Something to Know

#1. What is "Reset All Settings"?

"Reset All Settings" simply means that it will reset the settings on your phone to their original state. You will not lose documents, files and any installed apps in the process.

#2. How to "Reset All Settings"

Step 1: Navigate to Settings > General > Reset

reset-all-settings.png

Step 2: Rest All Settings

When prompted click on the 'Reset All Settings' button. A list of options will come up, click on the 'Reset All Settings' button again to continue.

hard-reset-iphone.png

This is to make sure that you confirm the action and the process should take no longer than 10 minutes.

#3. How to Recover Data

If you have been paying attention to the screen of your iPhone, you would notice that the 'Reset All Settings' and 'Erase all Content and Settings' options are side by side. So, if you are the type of person who are always clumsy or just downright bad lucked, these data recovery steps using iRefone for Mac ( iRefone for Windows ) may be your saviour in the unfortunate instance that you accidentally erased everything on your phone.

You can follow the "iRefone for Mac User Guide" ( User Guide for Windows ) to learn the 3 ways to recover your lost data on iPhone (iPhone 6S/6S Plus included).

Buy NowPrice: $79.95 $49.95

Related Articles